Engels House

The life, work and family of Friedrich Engels

The Engels House breathes the spirit of a great historical figure: Friedrich Engels (1820-1895). The Engels House, built in 1775, was his grandfather's home and represents the family's economic success as textile entrepreneurs during early industrialisation.

The permanent exhibition shows the life and work of Wuppertal's most famous son and provides a fascinating insight into the bourgeois everyday culture of the Engels family of pietistic entrepreneurs.

The permanent exhibition on the life and work of Friedrich Engels presents the factory owner's son from Barmen as a true all-rounder: Philosopher, social critic, historian, journalist, communist revolutionary, military expert, cosmopolitan, along the way a linguistic genius, athletic, communicative and hard-drinking, but always a gentleman and basically a workaholic, for Karl Marx "a true universal encyclopaedia".

The miserable situation of the workers in England particularly touched Engels. He took it as an opportunity to also deal theoretically with the textile industry, which operated with high capital input and the most modern technology and was initially the leading sector of industrialisation.

His "Outlines of a Critique of National Economy" (1844) had a lasting influence on Karl Marx, who had studied philosophy and law. It was through Engels that Marx found his way to economics. No Engels, no Marx! Karl Marx, the theoretician of scientific socialism, and Friedrich Engels, the practitioner of economics: both are among the important personalities of the 19th century who have had a lasting influence on the contemporary history of the 20th century.

In the Engels House, however, you can also immerse yourself in the bourgeois living culture of a factory owner's family around 1830. Music and wallpaper rooms give an authentic impression of how the Engels family lived. Particularly noteworthy here are the Engels family's music room with its elaborate stucco work and the representative wallpaper room, whose colourful depictions of river and coastal landscapes still impress visitors today. 

 


Visitor Information

  • Address
    Engelsstraße 10, 42283 Wuppertal
       
  • Opening hours
    Tuesday - Sunday, public holidays: 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
    Monday: closed
    The Engels-Haus is closed on the following days: 01.01., 24.-26.12., 31.12.
     
  • Admission
    Full-payer: 4 €
    Reduced: 2 € Entitled to a reduction: Minors aged 6-14, schoolchildren, trainees and students up to 27 years of age, persons receiving benefits according to SGB II or SGB XII or who are in possession of the Wuppertal Pass, persons doing basic military or civilian service, persons liable to pay the infrastructure development levy. Please present appropriate proof of eligibility.
    Free admission: children from 0-5 years of age; accompanying persons of severely disabled persons, whose identity card states the necessity of permanent accompaniment (sign "B" or "H"); registered school classes in class groups (currently not possible due to corona); members of the sponsoring associations Historisches Zentrum, Bandwebermuseum and Manuelskotten; journalists; members of national and international museum associations (ICOM, DMB, etc.). Please provide appropriate proof.
     
  • Ticket sales
    The purchase of tickets in advance with the booking of a time slot is recommended. This also applies to visitors who have free admission.
    Online booking via Wuppertal Live: https://ticketbuchung.online/engelshaus
    Wuppertal Live advance booking offices: https://www.wuppertal-live.de/vorverkaufsstellen
    During opening hours, our box office in the Engelspavillon is also open (only EC card payment possible). 
    Please note that there may be waiting times for visitors who purchase tickets at the box office, as the number of visitors to the Engels House is still regulated.
     
  • Hygiene protection rules
    The wearing of medical face masks is compulsory. A certified negative rapid test or vaccination certificate are not required for the visit! 
     
  • Guided tours
    We will be offering guided tours of the Engels House from 21.09.2021. The group size is limited to a maximum of 12 people. Only those who have been tested, vaccinated and recovered can take part. Appropriate proof must be presented at the Engels Pavilion before the tour. Please allow 10-15 minutes for registration at the Angel Pavilion so that your tour can start on time.

    Duration: 1 hour
    Cost: 60 € + admission
    Booking via Anchor Point: Tel.: +49 (0)202 563 4375, e-mail: ankerpunkt@stadt.wuppertal.de
     
  • Photography in the Engels House
    Photography in the exhibition is permitted for private purposes only. For any other use of photographs, permission must be obtained in advance from the municipal management. For conservation reasons, the use of flash is not permitted.
     
  • Accessibility 
    The Engels House is currently not barrier-free. Both access to the Engels House and moving between floors requires the use of stairs. 
     
  • Please note 
    Until the opening of the Visitor Centre, which is currently under construction, the Engels House can only be operated with restrictions. The Engels House is not barrier-free accessible. As we can only guarantee a limited cloakroom service, we would ask you not to bring large bags, rucksacks etc. into the exhibition. Sanitary facilities are located in the neighbouring Engels Pavilion. We are currently unable to offer catering services. We hope for your understanding for these restrictions.
     
  • Video surveillance 
    Video surveillance is installed in the premises of the Engels House.

 

Sponsored by

Top

Engels-Haus

Leben, Werk und Familie von Friedrich Engels

Im Engels-Haus atmet der Geist einer großen historischen Persönlichkeit: Friedrich Engels (1820-1895). Das Engels-Haus, 1775 erbaut, war das Wohnhaus seines Großvaters und repräsentiert den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg der Familie als Textilunternehmer in der Frühindustrialisierung.

In der Dauerausstellung wird Leben und Werk des berühmtesten Sohns Wuppertals gezeigt und ein faszinierender Einblick in die bürgerliche Alltagskultur der pietistischen Unternehmerfamilie Engels gegeben.

Die Dauerausstellung zu Leben und Werk von Friedrich Engels stellt den Fabrikantensohn aus Barmen als einen echten Allrounder vor: Philosoph, Gesellschaftskritiker, Historiker, Journalist, kommunistischer Revolutionär, Militärexperte, Weltbürger, nebenbei noch ein Sprachgenie, sportlich, kommunikativ und trinkfest, aber stets Gentleman und im Grunde ein Workaholic, für Karl Marx „ein wahres Universallexikon“.

Die elende Lage der Arbeiter in England berührte Engels besonders. Er nahm sie zum Anlass, sich auch theoretisch mit der Textilindustrie, die mit hohem Kapitaleinsatz und modernster Technik agierte und anfangs Leitsektor der Industrialisierung war, auseinanderzusetzen.

Seine „Umrisse zu einer Kritik der Nationalökonomie“ (1844) übten nachhaltig Einfluss auf Karl Marx aus, der Philosophie und Jura studiert hatte. Über Engels fand Marx zur Ökonomie. Ohne Engels kein Marx! Karl Marx, der Theoretiker des wissenschaftlichen Sozialismus und Friedrich Engels, der Praktiker der Ökonomie: Beide zählen zu den bedeutenden Persönlichkeiten des 19. Jahrhunderts, die die Zeitgeschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts nachhaltig beeinflusst haben.

Im Engels-Haus können Sie aber auch in die bürgerliche Wohnkultur einer Fabrikantenfamilie um 1830 eintauchen. Musik- und Tapetenzimmer geben einen authentischen Eindruck wie die Familie Engels gelebt und gewohnt hat. Besonders bemerkenswert sind hier das Musikzimmer der Familie Engels mit aufwendigen Stuckarbeiten sowie das repräsentative Tapetenzimmer, dessen farbige Darstellung von Fluss- und Küstenlandschaften bis heute beeindrucken. 

Weitere Informationen zum Engels-Haus:

 


Besucherinformationen

  • Adresse
    Engelsstraße 10, 42283 Wuppertal
     
  • Anfahrt
    Vom Hauptbahnhof Wuppertal nehmen Sie die Schwebebahn Richtung "Oberbarmen Bf". Ausstiegsstation: Adlerbrücke. Überqueren Sie die Friedrich-Engels-Allee und Sie sind nach wenigen Metern am Engels-Haus.
       
  • Öffnungszeiten
    Dienstag - Sonntag, Feiertage: 10 -18 Uhr
    Montag: geschlossen
    Das Engels-Haus ist an den folgenden Tagen geschlossen: Neujahr, Karfreitag, Heiligabend, 1. und 2. Weihnachtsfeiertag, Silvester
     
  • Eintritt
    Vollzahler: 4 €
    ermäßigt: 2 € 
    Anspruch auf Ermäßigung haben: Minderjährige im Alter von 6-14 Jahren, Schülern/Schülerinnen, Auszubildende und Studenten/Studentinnen bis 27 Jahre, Personen, die Leistungen nach dem SGB II oder SGB XII erhalten oder die im Besitz des Wuppertalpasses sind, BFD-, FSJ- oder FÖJ-Leistende,Grundwehr- oder Zivildienstleistende, Zahlungspflichtige der Infrastrukturförderabgabe. Legen Sie bitte einen entsprechenden Nachweis vor.
    freier Eintritt: 
    Kinder  von 0-5 Jahren; Begleitperson von Schwerbehinderten, in deren Ausweis die Notwendigkeit ständiger Begleitung vermerkt ist (Merkzeichen „B“ oder „H“); angemeldete Schulklassen im Klassenverband (z.Zt. coronabedingt nicht möglich); Mitglieder der Fördervereine Historisches Zentrum, Bandwebermuseum und Manuelskotten; Journalisten; Mitglieder des Deutschen Museumsbundes, Mitglieder der nationalen und internationalen Museumsverbände (ICOM, DMB u. a.). Legen Sie bitte einen entsprechenden Nachweis vor.
     
  • Ticketverkauf
    Der Erwerb von Eintrittskarten im Vorverkauf mit der Buchung eines Zeitfensters wird empfohlen. Das gilt auch für Besucher, die freien Eintritt haben.
    Online-Buchung über Wuppertal Live: https://ticketbuchung.online/engelshaus
    Vorverkaufsstellen von Wuppertal Live: https://www.wuppertal-live.de/vorverkaufsstellen
    Während der Öffnungszeiten ist zusätzlich unsere Tageskasse im Engelspavillon geöffnet (nur EC-Kartenzahlung möglich). 
    Bitte beachten Sie, dass es für Besucher, die an der Tageskasse Karten erwerben, zu Wartezeiten kommen kann, da die Besucheranzahl im Engels-Haus weiterhin reglementiert ist.

     
  • Hygienschutzregeln
    Ab dem 24.11.2021 gelten die 2G-Regeln. Das Tragen von medizinischen Gesichtsmasken ist verpflichtend.
      
  • Führungen
    Die Gruppengröße für Führungen ist auf maximal 12 Personen beschränkt. Teilnehmen können nur Geimpfte und Genesene. Entsprechende Nachweise sind am Engelspavillon vor der Führung vorzulegen. Bitte planen Sie 10-15 Minuten für die Anmeldung im Engelspavillon ein, damit Ihre Führung pünktlich starten kann.

    a) Führung Engels-Haus
    Dauer: 1 Stunde
    Kosten: 60 € + Eintritt
    Buchung über den Ankerpunkt: Tel.: +49 (0)202 563 4375, E-Mail: ankerpunkt@stadt.wuppertal.de

    b) Führung Engels-Haus und Engelsgarten
    Dauer: 1,5 Stunden
    Kosten: 90 € + Eintritt
    Buchung über den Ankerpunkt: Tel.: +49 (0)202 563 4375, E-Mail: ankerpunkt@stadt.wuppertal.de

    c) Engels-Stadtführungen
    Wir bitten eine Reihe thematischer Führungen zu den Spuren von Friedrich Engels und seiner Familie in Wuppertal an. Nähere Informationen zu unserem Angebot erhalten Sie hier.
    Dauer: 90 Minuten
    Kosten: 90 € 
    Buchung über den Ankerpunkt: Tel.: +49 (0)202 563 4375, E-Mail: ankerpunkt@stadt.wuppertal.de
       
  • Fotografieren im Engels-Haus
    Das Fotografieren in der Ausstellung ist ausschließlich für private Zwecke erlaubt. Für jede andere Nutzung von Fotografien ist vorab eine Erlaubnis bei der Stadtbetriebsleitung einzuholen. Aus konservatorischen Gründen ist die Verwendung von Blitzlicht nicht gestattet.
     
  • Barrierefreiheit 
    Das Engels-Haus ist zur Zeit nicht barrierefrei erreichbar. Sowohl für den Zugang zum Engels-Haus als auch für den Wechsel der Etagen ist die Benutzung einer Treppe erforderlich. 
     
  • Bitte beachten 
    Bis zur Eröffnung des im Bau befindlichen Besucherzentrums ist der Betrieb des Engels-Hauses nur mit Einschränkungen möglich. Das Engels-Haus ist nicht barrierefrei zugänglich. Da wir nur einen eingeschränkten Garderobenbetrieb gewährleisten können, möchten wir Sie bitten, keine großen Taschen, Rucksäcke u.ä. in die Ausstellung mitzunehmen. Sanitäranlagen befinden sich im benachbarten Engelspavillon. Gastronomische Dienstleistungen können wir momentan nicht anbieten. Wir hoffen auf Ihr Verständnis für diese Einschränkungen.
     
  • Videoüberwachung 
    In den Räumlichkeiten des Engels-Hauses ist eine Videoüberwachung installiert.

 

Gefördert vom

Top